Tuesday, October 25, 2011

LEGEND by Marie Lu

Title: LEGEND
Author: Marie Lu
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile (a Penguin imprint)
Release Date: November 29, 2011
Number of Pages: 336
Source of Book: Borrowed ARC from Heidi at YA Bibliophile
Author's Website: http://marielu.org/

Goodreads Summary:
What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic's wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic's highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country's most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths - until the day June's brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family's survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias's death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.

*************************
LEGEND was a book that I couldn't put down. I do love dystopian books, and this one was a fresh concept of a no longer United States divided into the Republic and the Colonies. There wasn't much to go on as far as how we got to this point, although there were little clues along the way that make me think we could get more backstory in the next book - and I do hope there will be a next book! In some books, it would bother me that I didn't know how they got to this point, but in this one, I barely even noticed it because I was so wrapped up in the action-packed, suspenseful, intrigue aspects of the story. I appreciated debut author Marie Lu's writing style. It was very straight-forward and focused on the action and details of what was going on, constantly moving the pacing forward with little clues for both the reader and the characters. 

Speaking of characters, I was hooked on both Day and June, which was good because the story unfolds from alternating points-of-view (clearly noted in chapter title, text font, and color). I appreciate the complexity of stories written from multiple perspectives, and it really works for this case and is so necessary for discovering the whole truth of what's happening. Day and June both have heart and want to do what's right for their families, and they both have big brothers to be admired. I'm a sucker for a great big brother in a story (probably because I'm the only girl with an older and younger brother myself), and this one has two to love! Day and June are believeable in their actions and intentions, and they're smart, but young. It's all of that that helped me to root for them both to figure out the political situation, work together, and succeed. The romance elements are there, but don't take over the focus of the story; they were written with a deft hand. Secondary characters abound and we get to know their role in the story as it unfolds - some become even more important than I could have thought.

I ended this book with a feeling of contentment, hope, not wanting it to end, wanting to go back and re-read it, and desire to read the next book! I was definitely emotionally invested in this book and these characters. LEGEND is perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT. I will absolutely be passing this recommendation on to my students.

Read An Excerpt at LegendtheSeries.com

1 comment:

  1. Oh, this sounds good! This is the first I've heard of this one. Definitely adding it to my wish list.

    ReplyDelete

 
Blog design by Imagination Designs